top of page

The pleasure and pain of sourcing


For any of you familiar with home renovations. There is a lot of hurry up and wait. You must source your materials long before you're actually going to use them. Size, shape, and location of all materials are critical when rebuilding walls and electrical.


I have a love/hate relationship with the sourcing of materials. On the one hand, it's exciting to see things start to come together and be able to visualize the space. On the other, there's a lot of internal dialogue going on in my head such as; what style do you pick? What color scheme? What if we don't like it when it's finished?


The best thing about this project is it's an investment property. This dictates a very defined budget, which makes it much easier to rule out materials I would use otherwise; and, I don't have to live there, so if it's not completely what I was going for I don't have to see it every day! 😜


The current focus is on materials for all bathrooms; a kitchen backsplash and countertop; and flooring throughout.


Flooring

In my opinion, flooring is the most daunting of tasks. You want to pick something that you will be happy with long-term, since switching it out post-installation is not advisable if you want to stay married. 😂 We have over 1,600 square feet to cover with new floors. I wanted a somewhat neutral flooring that can be combined with wood tones as well as grays. The color and movement of the kitchen cabinets presented a challenge. The key was nothing too busy, or matchy matchy with the cabinets. Where I landed was a flooring that is neutral enough to be used throughout the house, but picks up at least one or two of the tones in the kitchen cabinets. It's hard to tell until installed, but I think I succeeded in my choice!


We went with a company called AAA Hardwood. We chose a laminate since it's much more durable than hardwood. The pic on the right shows the flooring with a kitchen cabinet.


Bathrooms

This home has three bathrooms. The main bath, a powder room, and an ensuite. I'm super excited about the options for each one!


Main Bath

As stated in a previous post, we aren't changing the footprint for the main bathroom. Here is a picture of the space as it stands today after the demolition. I used panorama mode for the photo so you can see the entire space. The vanity will go against the wall on the left. The main door is to the right of the light switch. The pocket door provides easy access from one of the bedrooms.


My vision for this room is industrial, modern with a bit of country thrown in for good measure. The floors will be white hexagon tile with dark grout similar to this picture.


The tile surrounding the tub will be white subway laid out in the pattern you see here (thank you Pinterest!)


I L❤VE this vanity I found on Facebook Marketplace! If you haven't checked out Facebook Marketplace, it's the new Craigslist. Here in Phoenix, a bunch of great items come up daily in my feed. I came across a guy who previously owned his own home improvement store. Now retired, he has a side business of selling items that consumers have returned online to stores such as Home Depot, Lowe's, etc. The stores can no longer sell them as "new" even though in most cases they haven't even been opened. We picked up this vanity and another one for the master bath, both new in box for less than half the price of what they would cost new off Home Depot's shelves! #winning


An industrial modern light bar, a white porcelain countertop with built-in double sinks and matte black faucets will complete the look. Still on the hunt for a mirror or mirrors...



Master Bath

As previously posted, we have reconfigured the old bathroom layout into one new bathroom as well as a separate walk-in closet. Here is the new layout for the bathroom after demolition.


The configuration will include a large walk-in shower with no tub. Here is the inspiration picture for the actual design. Ours will include a bench as well as the shower controls on the inside pony wall for easy access.


The master suite will have the same industrial modern edge, but with warmer tones and a little more glam. We will be using the same tile flooring, but this time with a light gray grout color.


The hexagon tile will extend into the shower floor with no separation. The shower walls will be vertically subway tiled and the accent tile will be used for a 1-foot wide strip of the accent tile centered vertically on the back wall. Showerhead and controls will be black matte.


The 72" vanity is a beautiful soft gray color and comes with a white countertop and two sinks. With all my Pinterest activity and recent home tours, I've really been crushing on the mixing metals. My plan is to combine brass with matte black.

Cabinet pulls aren't standard sizes (that would be too easy) so switching them out can be a pain. I've ordered new bronze ones that I hope will fit🤞.


If things go according to plan, I will use the bronze pulls with matte black faucets on the vanity. The mirrors will be matte black and lighting a bronze to balance out the look. Here are a couple of lighting options I'm considering.


Powder Room

The half bath is down one of the hallways with easy access to the pool. It's very small and currently has a corner vanity which is UGLY. What I love about powder rooms is they don't have to focus as much on major function but can be more fun in their design!


Here is a pic of what it looks like today.... blech.


I found this super cute vanity ON SALE at Lowe's!

Flooring will be a pretty blue mosaic tile.


The mirror will most likely be round and gold. To tie it all together I'm thinking one of these lights.


I took a couple of days off work so I was able to make some significant progress on getting materials. I'm super excited to see it all come together in the next month.


Love to hear what you think on progress made so far!



2 comments

2 Comments


yvettegibbons1
Apr 07, 2020

So beautiful the selections!❤️❤️❤️

Like

GnT Properties
GnT Properties
Mar 20, 2020

Test

Like
bottom of page